Meditation

Aside from putting my glasses in the morning, I don’t have any other favorite routine. In fact, the glasses routine is a matter of necessity and survival than favorite. True that I drink coffee every morning, but as told by nananoyz, it is for the survival of others. Since I live alone, the coffee really are not a daily necessity.

But, as part of my new year resolution, I have started a daily routine in the past 2 weeks: Meditation. For the last 2 weeks, I spared 10 minutes in the morning, right after I woke up to do 10 minutes meditation.

2014-04-13 12.56.09

I have been following the mediation program from headspace, practicing mindfulness. While I’m not there yet, I do feel calmer and controlled in my daily chores at work.

And I do still drink 2 cups of coffee for the survival of my coworkers.

At the moment, I’m near the end of the Take10 program as part of the free trial, and considering to pay for the subscription. If any of you are paid subscriber, I would love to hear your opinion and review. Should I pay and join the program?

This post is written in response to dailyprompt Just Another Day. I’m not affiliated with headspace or any of their marketing agency, not even benefit from referral.

2 thoughts on “Meditation

  1. Over the past many months, I’ve been trying to incorporate more meditation and mindfulness into my life as a way to manage stress and be more content. While I’m not familiar with headspace, the brief mindfulness group I was part of last semester was guided by the book “Wherever You Go, There You Are” by Jon Kabat-Zinn. The introduction is a little bit long, but most of the “chapters” are only a couple pages and provide a short mindfulness activity to consider. I highly recommend it.

    Additionally, if you prefer more active meditation, I find doing a series of yoga sun salutations can get me into a calm place without having to try to “stay still” for longer than I’m ready to.

    Like

    1. Hi Darren,
      The problem I have with written meditation guide (i.e. websites, or books) is that, it is difficult to remember what you need to do, and doing it at the same time. For example, it is impossible to let my mind wander and recognize the background noise while at the same time remember the next step. This is where headspace fill in, with the voice guidance so that I don’t really need to remember the next step, or pay attention to the time. Headspace apps do it for me.

      Regarding Yoga, I don’t know… the pose is usually challenging. But I’ll look into it later. Thanks….

      Like

Leave a Reply

