ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi

In response to WordPress Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta! If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills?

Given my terrible eyesight, I think learning Braille should be my top priority, like Unbolt. I am blessed with a pair of healthy eye that can only focus very close, so losing my vision is not an immediate threat. But, I think it would be cool and nice if I can read a book without any glasses or contacts, and without sticking my nose to the paper. That is, reading Braille book.

But, Braille is not spoken language. And, if today’s prompt is about spoken language, then I choose to be able to speak Hawaiian Language.

Why Hawaiian? Well, I always feel that it is sexy to be able to speak tribal language like Hawaiian.

And since Hawaiian language is not widely spoken in the world, I also wish that my partner will pick up the language so we can speak in private anywhere. Of course, it will be useless if we are actually in Hawai. But then again, we can speak with Hawai people in Hawaiian. How cool is that?

One thought on “ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi

Leave a Reply

